YGO: My personal take on CHAOS DRAGONS

Dear friends and fans of the Yu-Gi-Oh! TCG!

It’s been quite a while since I posted about YGO on here or since I posted at all. Today I want to bring to your attention, after a long spell of silence, an at least to me very special deck I have developed / built myself, and which could even be somewhat competitive.Ā  Anyways since I gave up on organized tournament play (I will spare you the reasons which would lead into a lengthy rant on my part – not going there at this point) and play mostly for fun in the confines of my home or with friends here and there casually, the competitiveness of my personal take on Chaos Dragons does not really matter. All that matters is the fun to be had with them.

The aforementioned deck I am going to showcase looks back on a looong line of “deck evolution”, being a Hieratics deck in the very beginning, then a “rainbow” Dragons deck (featuring great dragon cards from all Attributes) and now, since all the Dragon Rulers are flat out banned these days, I would call it my very own take on what many woud call “Chaos Dragons”.

As always, I will provide you with the decklist and follow up with some explanatory text on strategy and on how the deck is supposed to work out. So without much further ado, let’s get started already with…

Andi’s Twilight Dragons:

Monsters…26

3 x Plaguespreader Zombie

2 x Minerva, Lightsworn Maiden

3 x Lyla, Lightsworn Sorceress

3 x Eclipse Wyvern

2 x Labradorite Dragon

3 x Lightpulsar Dragon

2 x Chaos Sorcerer

2 x Odd-Eyes Saber Dragon

2 x Odd-Eyes Dragon

1 x Dark Armed Dragon

1 x Blue-Eyes White Dragon

1 x Red-Eyes Darkness Metal Dragon

1 x Black Luster Soldier – Envoy of the Beginning

Spells…9

3 x Dragon Shrine

2 x Monster Reincarnation

2 x Charge of the Light Brigade

1 x Foolish Burial

1 x Burial from a Different Dimension

Traps…5

3 x Breakthrough Skill

2 x Skill Successor

Extra…8

1 x Goyo Guardian

3 x Michael the Arch-Lightsworn

3 x Leo, the Keeper of the Sacred Tree

1 x Star Eater

About the Deck:

This deck seems like a classic approach of a Chaos Dragons deck, in which you’d fill your graveyard with Light and Dark Monsters in order to pull off powerful Special Summonings such as Lightpulsar Dragon, Red-Eyes Darkness Metal Dragon, Dark Armed Dragon or the big boss of all of ’em: Black Luster Soldier – Envoy of the Beginning.

The central piece of this Dragon-toolbox-like deck has always been and of course also is in my build…

It is simple: You send it to the graveyard from anywhere (Dragon Shrien is GREAT for this and some Lightsworns will help too), then banish any Lv. 7 or higher Light or Darkness Dragon and when Wyvern gets banished, let’s say by summoning Lightpulsar Dragon, Chaos Sorcerer or Black Luster Soldier – Envoy of the Beginning, you’ll get the previously banished Dragon into your hand, from where you can usually special summon it easily like in the case of almighty…

That is not new at all and not in the least original, but as I said I added my own touch to the basic Chaos Dragons Deck, for once using Dragon Shrine to great extent which sends any 1 Dragon (think Eclipse Wyvern) to the Graveyard from your Deck, or two dragons if the first one was a Normal Monster (and I have 3 of them in the deck). In exchange, I am running very few Lightsworn cards though. What makes the deck somewhat special and is probably the most original part of the whole thing is sort of a synergy (I hesitate calling it a “combo”) I discovered with a rather new addition to the family of Dragon Monsters. Lo and behold:

So what I love to do turn 1 is the following: Normal Summon Eclipse Wyvern, then tribute it to Special Summon Odd-Eyes Saber Dragon. This will let me banish a Level 7 or higher Light or Dark Dragon from my Deck. I usually pick Red-Eyes Darkness Metal Dragon. When Odd-Eyes Saber Dragon is summoned, I can send a (Dark Attribute) Odd-Eyes Dragon to my graveyard. And hey presto, I have a huge threat already in the form of Odd-Eyes Saber Dragon and a Dark and a Light Monster in the Graveyard, ready to be banished to Special Summon something nasty, let’s say Lightpulsar Dragon. When doing so, Eclipse Wyvern’s effect will trigger and send the banished card (Red-Eyes Darkness Metal Dragon in our example) to my hand. What I then do is banish Lightpulsar Dragon to Special Summon Red-Eyes Darkness Metal Dragon. That means I now have two 2800 ATK Monsters in play and odds are in my favor that I will have another, possibly powerful Dragon in hand or graveyard to be Special Summoned right away through Red-Eyes Darkness Dragon’s awesome effect!! What a first turn. Second turn: Opponent plays Dark Hole… Less fun lol… šŸ˜› šŸ˜€

Also, this deck has quite some synchro potential and it is not all too difficut to get out the all powerful…

…or a potentially even more powerful Goyo Guadian as well as the great Michael, the Arch-Lightsworn.

One note on the side deck: It is obviously incomplete and needs some work still of course. Suggestions would be much appreciated!!

Ok thank you, dear reader, for taking the time to read my thoughts about my new Chaos Dragons version, which I personally enjoy playing a lot!

Next up in the Yu-Gi-Oh section of this here blog: A review of the AWESOME new Synchron Extreme Structure Deck!

Stay tuned (no pun intended!!)

And as always,

HAPPY GAMING to you all.

Yours,

Andi

Leave a Reply

